Consumer unit and RCBO planner

The calculator needs JavaScript. The worked example, formula and figures below show exactly how it works, so you can do the sum yourself. A guide, not advice. Check your supplier's or maker's figures before ordering.

Short answer

Worked example

Worked example inputs
You enterValue
Board layoutAll RCBOs
CircuitsKitchen sockets: type Sockets, rating 32 A; Downstairs sockets: type Sockets, rating 32 A; Upstairs sockets: type Sockets, rating 32 A; Downstairs lights: type Lighting, rating 6 A; Upstairs lights: type Lighting, rating 6 A; Cooker: type Cooker, rating 32 A; Shower: type Shower, rating 45 A; Immersion: type Immersion, rating 16 A; Smoke alarms: type Other, rating 6 A; Garage: type Outbuilding, rating 20 A
Surge protection deviceYes
Arc fault detectionNo
Spare ways20%
Width of each RCBO1 modules
Width of the main switch2 modules
Width of the SPD2 modules

16 modules needed (indicative)

Worked example results
ResultValue
Modules needed16
Spare ways2
Circuit schedule (for the electrician's quote)
WayCircuitRating (A)Protection
1Kitchen sockets32RCBO
2Downstairs sockets32RCBO
3Upstairs sockets32RCBO
4Downstairs lights6RCBO
5Upstairs lights6RCBO
6Cooker32RCBO
7Shower45RCBO
8Immersion16RCBO
9Smoke alarms6RCBO
10Garage20RCBO

Things to discuss with your electrician

  • RCD protection for socket circuits up to 32 A (Reg 411.3.3).
  • A non-combustible enclosure for the consumer unit in a home (Reg 421.1.201).
  • Surge protection: the SPD is counted (Sections 443 and 534).
  • Arc fault detection: ask whether AFDDs are recommended for your circuits (Reg 421.1.7).
Show the working
  1. Spare ways: 10 circuits × 20%, rounded up = 2
  2. RCBOs: 10 × 1 = 10 modules
  3. Main switch: 1 × 2 = 2 modules
  4. SPD: 1 × 2 = 2 modules
  5. Spare ways: 2 × 1 = 2 modules
  6. Modules needed: 16

How it works

  1. All RCBOs: modules = circuits × RCBO width + main switch + SPD + spare ways × RCBO width
  2. Dual RCD: modules = RCDs × RCD width + circuits × MCB width + main switch + SPD + spare ways × MCB width
  3. Spare ways = circuits × spare allowance, rounded up
  4. Enclosure = the smallest size in the maker's range with at least that many usable modules

Regulation notes (non-combustible enclosures, SPDs, RCD protection for sockets, AFDDs) are being checked against BS 7671:2018+A4:2026 by our researcher.

Indicative only: the electrician designs the board, chooses the devices and checks discrimination and fault protection.

Our default (adjustable)

These are typical planning figures and our own allowances, not facts about your product. Change any of them in the calculator to match your bag, pack or tin.

FigureOur default (adjustable)KindSource
Spare ways20 %Our assumption
Not yet checked against the source
Our choice: change it to suit your job
brief v2 E6: spare ways allowance (assumption 20%).
Width of each RCBO1 modulesCommon UK size
Not yet checked against the source
From your product
brief v2 E6 (CU1): single-module RCBO. Some RCBOs take 2 modules: check the maker's data.
Width of each MCBEnter from the bag, pack or tinCommon UK size
Not yet checked against the source
From your product
Not stated in the brief. Researcher to fill from a consumer unit maker's data.
Width of each RCDEnter from the bag, pack or tinCommon UK size
Not yet checked against the source
From your product
Not stated in the brief. Researcher to fill from a consumer unit maker's data.
Width of the main switch2 modulesCommon UK size
Not yet checked against the source
From your product
brief v2 E6 (CU1): main switch width.
Width of the SPD2 modulesCommon UK size
Not yet checked against the source
From your product
brief v2 E6 (CU1): surge protective device width.
Extra width per AFDDEnter from the bag, pack or tinCommon UK size
Not yet checked against the source
From your product
Not stated in the brief. Researcher to fill from an AFDD maker's data.

Regulations and standards

  • BS 7671:2018+A4:2026 Reg 421.1.201 (non-combustible consumer unit enclosures)
  • BS 7671:2018+A4:2026 Section 443 and Section 534 (surge protection)
  • BS 7671:2018+A4:2026 Reg 411.3.3 (RCD protection for socket-outlets up to 32 A)
  • BS 7671:2018+A4:2026 Reg 421.1.7 (arc fault detection devices)

Explained: BS 7671 (the IET Wiring Regulations), Approved Document P (electrical safety).

BS 7671 is used across the UK. In England and Wales, replacing a consumer unit is notifiable under Part P; Scotland and Northern Ireland have their own rules.

Reference tables this calculator reads
TableClauseNationsStatus
Consumer unit enclosure sizes (usable modules)
TODO: Researcher to add the maker or standard URL
Consumer unit makers' ranges (Researcher to fill from at least two UK makers' data sheets)UK-wide0/6 values entered
Not yet checked against the source

What to buy

FAQs